15Questions: Joann Maciejewski

Name

Joann Maciejewski

Church

All Saints, Santa Clarita, CA

Position at church (if any)

Rector’s Wife/Queen of Bulletin and Liturgy Printing (though some mishaps of late have demoted me to Lady of Bulletin and Liturgy Printing).

Favorite liturgical color and season

Well, I love Lent, with all its repentance and purple. But I have been getting very cranky on the Daniel Fast the last few years, and think I may need to do an amended fast using eggs and cheese, for the sake of my friends and family. Also, my husband has a beautiful green chasuble with fish on it that his parents bought him, and that makes me love Kingdomtide.

If you could have dinner with 3 people dead or alive, whom would you choose?

This is a bit of a problem, because I am fairly shy and don’t know what in the world I would do, except be relatively awkward, during dinner with people I don’t really know. But, I am assuming that we would get along well and the conversation would flow. So I guess I would say Jesus, although I don’t know that I would be able to eat well, I’d just fall down. I want to have dinner with my mom and dad, who died before our youngest two kids were born, and tell them about our lives. And lastly my old best friend Carolyn Kanno, who committed suicide while we were in college. Carolyn and I have a few pieces of unfinished business we need to talk through.

Name 3 of your favorite books

Gosh, I used to be a big book reader and would like nothing better than to spend the whole afternoon laying on the couch reading. Now, I can barely pay attention to finish a magazine. I’ve been relegated to audiobooks that we listen to on road trips mostly. 1. The Curious Incident of a Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon – a neighborhood mystery viewed through the eyes of a teenage autistic boy. 2. I Thought My Father Was God by Paul Auster – a compiled set of stories from NPR (yes, I know, NPR). 3. At Home in Mitford, (the whole series), Jan Karon – a fun idealized small town priest and his adventures.

Name 3 of your favorite movies

Sweet Home Alabama, Men in Black, The Preacher’s Wife. (I guess I only like movies with three words in the title). Although my six year old son and I are on a Star Wars kick now, so should I add them? We seem to be watching all 6 Star Wars movies all the time, and I kinda like it.

Name 3 of your favorite TV shows

House, Monk, Heroes. (I guess for TV shows, only one word in the title will do). TV is my biggest relaxation these days.

What music are you listening to?

Not a whole lot. I like the “iworship Platinum” CDs. (Although I have been told we should worship Jesus and not platinum.) I have a few other worship CDs, like the very ominous and commanding sounding “The 51 Must Have Modern Worship Hits.” I also like John Mayer, The Fray, country music, typically anything non-rap. We have been enjoying the Mylie Cyrus Hannah Montana CD, though I’m not sure I’m pleased to admit that. Most of the time I would listen to Bp. Adler’s cechome sermons on CD while driving, which were great and helped make driving to work in traffic a spiritually refreshing time.

Favorite websites and blogs

Well, the www.cechome.com of course! And cecworship.com. I usually read the Wall Street Journal online every day to keep up to date for my job. I love the online Daily Office on the CEC’s www.bookofcommonprayer.net, which is the best Daily Office on the net. It also has the Sunday lectionaries and such so I can make bulletins and things. I also visit the Pastors’ Wives Forum daily (www.pastorswivesonline.com), which has been a surprising source of friendship and fellowship with a lot of PWs from a variety of denominations. To keep up with celebrities (hey, I do live in L.A.) I’ll use www.people.com or www.tmz.com. I have a Bloglines.com account that keeps me up to date on blogs – and there are about 90 that I monitor. Some great ones are The “Blog” of Unnecessary “Quotation Marks” (http://quotation-marks.blogspot.com/), and Passive Aggressive Notes.com (http://www.passiveaggressivenotes.com/). I also like to keep up with the blogs from my church people, friends, CEC people, and also of my friends from the Pastors’ Wives Forum. You can find those linked from my own blog, www.joannmski.blogspot.com.

Tell us a little more about yourself and your family

My husband and I were high school sweethearts. I was a Southern Baptist and he was a Roman Catholic. I don’t think we would have foreseen our life now when we started dating, in 1981. Rich was a handsome angsty bad boy who smoked, played electric guitar, but had a tender, passionate and compassionate heart and deep faith in God. I immediately had a huge crush on and fell in love with him. We have four really, really great kids: Nadia (4), Luke (6), Naomi (15), and Jessica (17). We have been blessed to take a mysterious journey into ministry that led first to the Lutheran church (where a married man could minister, unlike the Roman church) and ultimately to St. Michael’s in San Clemente, where we discovered the CEC in 1997. We moved to Santa Clarita in 1998, while Rich was still at Fuller Theological Seminary, to help start All Saints Church, which my husband now pastors. We are a multi cultural family – I am half Japanese-American and half Caucasian, and my husband is half Mexican-American and half Caucasian. We incorporate various customs, traits, and foods from the different heritages. I like to cook, and I like to scrapbook (but hardly ever do it), and I like to blog (which I do, every day M-F). I somehow stumbled out of UCLA right into big business (I am a headhunter for a major executive search firm). Life is busy, and crazy, but so fun.

If you are in ministry, what are you involved in?

I do a lot of behind the scenes things. I am typically in charge of printing the liturgies, bulletins, the church picnic, and throw a lot of potlucks. I coordinate our womens’ Bible study (we are currently doing the Beth Moore Book of Daniel series). I edit our diocesan newsletter, The Current. I like to make dinners for people who’ve come out of the hospital. But I think my main ministry is to enable my husband to give his time to ministry.

Get prophetic: Where do you see God taking your ministry?

I think my own ministry will be mainly electronic and financial. We have had a lot of ministry to clergy wives through the Pastors’ Wives Forum, which I host, and that makes me very happy. I am good at writing and communications and God seems to be able to use that. I also think He will bless my work so that my husband is free to eventually travel to minister abroad, or do some other good stuff for the kingdom.

For Sunday worship, do you use a hymnal, sheets of paper, or a computer?

We print our opening and closing hymns in the bulletin. We do the praise set on overheads. We do the sung liturgy portions from the printed liturgy booklets.

Share a word of wisdom with the readers

In 1997, on a rainy day, our family traveled an hours’ drive to San Clemente to visit St. Michael’s for the first time. We found a church that felt like home for both of us – people speaking in tongues and using incense in the same service. A family type feel with high church liturgy. Good preaching and passion about the service. People said the service with feeling, and didn’t just mumble through as fast as they could. We sang modern songs with our whole souls. People received prayer for healing. As we drove home, a rainbow lit up the sky and it felt like a symbol of what happened in our hearts. I would say to you readers, the CEC is still that good. We are on the right track. Let go and let God light up the sky with a rainbow for you.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] of you saw the post with the logo above. To avoid confusion we want to explain what this is all about. We decided that […]

